2012 London Tour Fixtures

The OCCC has toured England seven times: 1975, 1978, 1983, 1986, 1989, 1993 & 1997. The
beginning of the Global Financial Crisis in 2008 forced the OCCC to cancel a planned tour in
2009, under the leadership of then President Mick Halliday. Inspired by Vets Captain Matthew
‘Rat’ Ramsay in 2011, the Club set out to re-establish its touring tradition, organising the first
trip to England for 15 years. The President Andrew ‘Ronnie’ Johnstone and A’s Captain Cameron
‘Desi’ Haynes put the wheels in motion under the initial guidance of past presidents Mick
Halliday and Peter Bavin.

for tour program please click here

Previous tours:

The OCCC Tour of England Report

Teams Played In England:

R M A Sandhurst Old Amplefordians Aldenham
Cricketers Club of London The Swallows Guildford
Midhurst Stratford On Avon Westminster
Cranbrook Lynxes Earl Spencer’s XI Oxford Downs
Eton Ramblers Sussex Martlets Cambridge XI
Harrow Wanderers Wiltshire Queries Shanklin CC
The Grannies Ryde Old Tonbridgeans
The Blue Mantles Morden CC I C I
Charterhouse Friars R A Fleming’s XI Sunbury
Sydenhurst Ramblers Old Wellingtonians The Guards
The Samarkanders Hampshire Hogs The Privateers
R H Hawkins’ XI The Royal Household Old Wykehamists
The British Army The Gemini Radley Rangers
South Oxford Amateurs Bourton Vale CC Uxbridge
Mersham le Hatch Old Georgians Hambledon CC
East Kent XI The Bank of England Dulwich
Old Merchant Taylors Hon. Artillery Company Southgate
Ventor CC

Many of the above games are very significant. For example, the OCCC was the first team from Australia to play in the Home Park at Windsor Castle. Hambledon CC is the oldest in the world :
the game of cricket could be said to have begun on Hambeldon’s ground at Broad Halfpenny Down. The greatest schools in England are well represented, and so are the “Great Houses” such as Everdon Hall (R.H. Hawkins’ XI), Little Dunford (Wiltshire Queries), Althorp, home of Earl Spencer and the late Princess Diana, Penshurst Place, and Arundel Castle (Sussex Martlets) where Australian Test sides normally begins their tours of England. The military connection is provided by R.M.A Sandhurst, The Hon. Artillery Company, the British Army and The Guards, which is a team drawn from the Grenadier and Coldstream Guards. Worth nothing, too, is that Mersham le Hatch was the club team for which the Duke of Edinburgh played.

Eton Ramblers and Midhurst are the only sides we have played on each of the seven tours of England.

Century Partnerships In England:

215 David Newgrosh & Timothy Cohen v Samarkanders at Marlborough 1978
193 James Yaffa & David Levy v Morden CC at Morden 1989
149 Tony Barr & Ian Sinclair v Bourton Vale CC 1986
148* Patrick Crammond & Mick Halliday v Sussex Martlets at Arundel Castle 1986
148* Andrew Johnstone & Alex McDade v Shanklin CC at Shanklin, IOW 1997
144 Jerry Thiedeman & Timothy Cohen v R M A at Camberley 1986
141 Michael Doyle & Ian Sinclair v R M A at Camberley 1993
138 Dave Brady & Patrick Alexander v R A Fleming’s XI at Penshurst PI 1983
136 Timothy Cohen & Jim Patterson v Cricketers Club of London 1975
134 Robert Dickens & Mick Halliday v Cambridge XI at Clare College 1983
132 Roger Bain & Mick Halliday v Dulwich at Dulwich College 1983
120 Simon Toben & Mick Halliday v R H Hawkins’ XI at Everdon Hall 1997
119 Richard Hunter & David Brady v R A Fleming’s XI at Coldharbour 1975
116 Dominic Remond & Roger Bain v Mersham le Hatch at Mersham 1986
115 Richard Hunter & David Brady v Eton Ramblers at Upper Club 1978
114* Mark Patterson & Mick Halliday v Royal Household at Windsor 1986
111 Dave Brady & Anthony McFayden v R A Fleming’s XI at Penshurst P 1983
111 Simon Toben & Alec McDade v Cranbrook Lynxes at Cranbrook 1993
111 Simon Toben & Alex McDade v Royal Household at Windso 1993
110* David Newgrosh & Dominic Remond v Eton Ramblers at Upper Club 1978
110 Michael Doyle & Dominic Remond v Eton Ramblers at Agars Plough 1989
108 Michael Doyle & Dominic Remond v R H Hawkins’ XI at Everdon Hall 1989
108* Simon Toben & Michael Doyle v Westminster at Vincent Square 1997
105 Alex McDade & Jonathan Moeller v R H Hawkins XI at Everdon Hall 1993
102 Mick Halliday & Alex Avramides v R H Hawkins XI at Everdon Hall 1993
100* Jerry Thiedeman & Dominic Remond v Hambledon CC at Hambledon 1989

Highest Partnerships In England:

1st Wicket 193 James Yaffa and David Levy v Morden CC 1989
2nd Wicket 148 Patrick Crammond and Mick Halliday v Sussex Martlets 1986
3rd Wicket 215 David Newgrosh and Timothy Cohen v Samarkanders 1978
4th Wicket 402 Alex McDade and Jonathan Moeller v R H Hawkins’ XI 1993
5th Wicket 82 Michael Preston and Peter McWhinney v R A Fleming’s XI
82 Phillip Sinclair and Jonathan Moeller v Old Wellingtonians 1975
6th Wicket 114 Mark Patterson and Mick Halliday v Royal Household 1993
7th Wicket 88 Mick Halliday and Martin Green v Hampshire Hogs 1986
8th Wicket 83 Timothy Cohen and Peter Bavin v Hampshire Hogs 1983
9th Wicket 44 James Bush and David Ulm v Midhurst 1989
10th Wicket 23 Peter Lovitt and Troy Warfield v Midhurst 1986

Centuries Scored In England:

Timothy Cohen 115 Crickets Club of London Chipperfield Green 1975
David Newgrosh 113 Samarkanders at Marlborough College 1978
Mick Halliday 120 Cambridge XI at Clare College, Cambridge 1983
Timothy Cohen 115 The Hampshire Hogs at Warnford 1983
Patrick Alexander 115 R.A. Fleming’s XI at Penshurst Place 1983
James Patterson 105 Eton Ramblers at Upper Club, Eton 1983
Jerry Thiedeman 175 Royal Military Academy at Camberley 1986
Mark Patterson 118 Royal Household C.C at Windsor Castle 1986
Patrick Crammond 109 Sussex Martlets at Arundel Castle 1986
Dominic Remond 106 Mersham CC at Mersham le Hatch 1986
David Levy 109 Morden CC at Morden 1993
Alex McDade 101 R H Hawkins’ XI at Everdon Hal 1993
Mick Halliday 175 The Gemini at Sunningdale School 1997

Best Bowling In England:

Brian Bavin 5-32 v R.M.A 1975
Peter Lovitt 5-16 v Westminster 1986
Brian Bavin 6-10 v Midhurs 1975
Jerry Thiedeman 5-32 v Guildfor 1986
Peter Bavin 5-44 v Samarkanders 1975
Peter Lovitt 6-33 v Swallows 1986
Jim Patterson 6-17 v Old Georgians 1975
Christopher Lane 6-36 v Wellington 1986
John Armat 5-34 v The Grannies 1975
Jas Patterson 6-77 v Mersham 1986
Brian Bavin 6-32 v Eton Ramblers 1975
Troy Warfield 5-41 v Midhurs 1989
Peter Bavin 5-26 v Old Amplefordians 1975
Troy Warfield 5-64 v R M A 1989
Peter Bavin 5-38 v Hampshire Hogs 1978
David Ulm 6-54 v Stratford 1989
Brian Bavin 5-30 v Yellowhammers 1978
James Bush 6-12 v R M A 1993
Ken Love 7-61 v Sydenhurst 1978
David Ulm 5-22 v Cranbrook 1997
Robert Dickins 5-91 v Dulwich 1983
Sam Macfie 5-31 v R.M.A 1997
Brian Bavin 5-36 v Aldenham 1983
Matthew Ramsay 5-22 v I.C.I 1997
P.Meares 5-68 v O.M.T’s 1983
Alistair Little 7-49 v Eton Ramblers 1997